You now have the possibiltiy of taking instant snapshots of disks attached to your Gandi VPS cloud servers.

Read more


We are planning a couple of scheduled maintenance windows to perform software upgrades on core and distribution network equipment.

 

The planned maintenance windows are as follows:

 

Monday 16 May 2011, 05:00 - 06:00 GMT.  For operations in Baltimore - Expected impact is minimal, though potentially up to 10 minutes of connectivity disruption in case of the need to roll-back the upgrade.

Update 07:00 UTC:  The upgrade on the Baltimore Core was successful.  We have delayed the upgrade to the Distribution, however as there will be an impact on downstream equipment.  We will schedule a new maintenance window for this equipment.

 

Thursday 26 May 2011, 00:00 - 02:00 GMT - to perform software upgrades to distribution hardware in Paris.  As with Baltimore, minimal impact is expected, but may incur up to 10 minutes of connectivity disruption in case a rollback is required.

 

Update 01:42 GMT (03:42 CET) - we have upgraded one of the distribution switch systems to the new software.  We will reschedule the other two switching systems for a later date.  Currently hosting operations (stop/start/restart/create, etc.) are suspended and will resume once the systems have stabilised and our teams have verified the integrity of the architecture.  We will keep you updated.

 

Update: 02:00 GMT (04:00 CET):  Hosting Operations have been resumed.  No further maintenance work is scheduled for tonight.

 

Friday 27 May 2011, 03:30 - 05:30 GMT - software upgrades on the core routers.  Impact will be localised to external transit and/or peering connectivity for each the associated routers.  Traffic will be re-routed to alternative paths, but minor route disruption is to be expected as routing reconverges.  There will be up to six minor disruptions of this kind during this maintenance window as each router will need to be reloaded during the upgrade.

 

Update 05:04 GMT:  The core router software upgrades have been completed and this maintenance is now terminated.  The remaining distribution systems from yesterday's maintenance window are postponed for a future date and will be announced separately.

 

 

We apologise for any inconvenience.


Once again very exotic ones, here are 4 extensions that will give you a bit of dream. With 3 extensions from the West Indies, let's welcome the .GD from Grenada, the .TC from Turks and Caicos Islands, which ar not Turkish at all, and the .VG from the British Virgin Islands. And a bit further to the West, just passing the International Date Line, we now have the .WS from the Samoan Islands.


The creation of a .WS  is at €24.00 excluding VAT/year in A list
http://www.gandi.net/domain/ws/info


The creation of a .GD is at €40.00 excluding VAT/year in A list
http://www.gandi.net/domain/gd/info


The creation of a .TC  is at €40.00 excluding VAT/year in A list
http://www.gandi.net/domain/tc/info


The creation of a .VG  is at €40.00 excluding VAT/year in A list
http://www.gandi.net/domain/vg/info





Our transatlantic connections are currently degraded due to multiple fibre cuts with separate providers.

 

One connection (Paris Equinx to Baltimore via Yellow) is out of service due to a cut on the Yellow submarine cable system and our supplier estimates 14 days to resolution. 

 

A second connection (Paris Telehouse2 to Baltimore via AC2 and TAT14) is currently out of service due to a fibre cut along the I-295 corridor between Washington and Baltimore. The supplier of this circuit has engineers in the field currently working to resplice the broken fibre cables, but we have not yet received an estimated time to fix.  This fibre cut is also impacting one of our IP transit connections in Baltimore.

 

A third connection (Paris Equinix to Baltimore via Apollo South) is working, but is experiencing BER (Bit-Error-Rate) on the line trace.  We have raised this issue with the supplier to investigate further. 

 

During this time, network performance between Baltimore and Paris is degraded and may show signs of packet loss and/or retransmissions.  We will keep you updated as we receive further updates from our suppliers.

 

We apologise for any inconvenience.

 

Update: 05:54 GMT (07:54 CEST):  The supplier for the connection Paris Telehouse2 to Baltimore via AC2/TAT14 has reported that the engineers have exposed the fibre and have begun prepping for splicing.  The splicing operation will commence within the next hour.

 

Update: 06:10 GMT (08:10 CEST):  Our supplier of the Paris Equinix to Baltimore connection via Apollo South has indicated a fibre cut in Washington affecting protected and unprotected services which explains the performance degradation on this circuit.  They have not yet provided a time to fix.

 

Update 06:55 GMT (08:55 CEST):  The supplier for the circuit via Apollo South has reported that splicing work is commencing and have provided an estimated time to repair of approximately six hours.

 

Update 07:35 GMT (09:36 CEST):  The supplier for the circuit over AC2/TAT14 has indicated that resplicing has commenced.  They have not yet indicated an estimated time to repair.

 

Update 08:34 GMT (10:34 CEST):  Our connection from Paris Telehouse2 to Baltimore via AC2/TAT14, and the affected IP Transit connection at Baltimore have both been restored.  Our supplier indicates that splicing work is still ongoing and we are monitoring the situation closely.  The connection from Paris Equinix to Baltimore via Apollo South is on the backup fibre path between Washington and Baltimore currently and resplicing of the fibre cut in Washington is ongoing.

 

Update 15:18 GMT (17:19 CEST) : The circuit via Apollo South is now  restored since 09:21 GMT (11:21 CEST).


Only just released, and we already have the first .MX regiostry promotion!

For the entire month of May, you will pay 50% less for the creation of .MX domain names for one or two years. And if you register for 3 or more years (the maximum being 5 years), you will get a 57.5% discount.

For the month of may, at Gandi, here are the creation prices for .MX domains with A rates (excl. VAT):

    * for 1 year: €36.00 > €18.00 (-50%)
    * for 2 years: €72.00 > €36.00 (-50%)
    * for 3 years: €91.80 > €45.90 (-57.5%)
    * for 4 years: €122.40 > €61.20 (-57.5%)
    * for 5 years: €153.00 > €76.50 (-57.5%)

Register a .MX:

.MX


We are experiencing an incident with certain network switching equipment.  Some services are partially affected, notably the Blogs and IPv6 GandiMail services. 

We are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and apologise for any inconvenience.

 

13:08 CET (12:08 GMT):  The incident has been resolved.


We are experiencing an incident with certain network switching equipment.  Some services are partially affected, notably the Blogs and IPv6 GandiMail services. 

 

Update 13:08 CET (12:08 GMT):  The incident has been resolved.

 

 

We are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and apologise for any inconvenience.


This Latin American extension is now available for everyone to register, without any local presence needed.

With nearly 500,000 active domain names, the .MX extension is the third largest Latin American extension, after Brazil and Argentina.

For more information, you may consult the .MX information page, as well as the full .MX price list.



.MX

Page   1 2 345 46 4751 52 53
Change the news ticker size