In view of the last two incidents, we are going to proceed with an urgent preventative maintenance operation on the platform's other storage hardware. Please do not reboot your servers during the maintenance: after 15 to 20 minutes of I/O loss, your service will return automatically.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may cause.


The Canadian registry reserves its national extension to Canadians (people and companies) as well as holders of Canadian trademarks.

In the case of registered trademarks, the domain requested must be identical to the trademark.

You can see the full .CA price list here.


We have detected an anomaly on a hosting filer impacting several customer servers.  Our teams are currently working to resolve the issue as soon as possible.  We will update this notice as more information becomes available.

 

14:20 (GMT) / 10:20 (EST): We are still looking for the root of the problem before restarting your servers.

 

15:45 (GMT) / 11:45 (EST): Unfortunately at this stage we have no additional information available to relay.  Our entire team is mobilised to identify the cause of the problem and restablish service as soon as possible.

 

17:00 (GMT) / 12:00 (EST): The attempt to transfer to the backup storage controller did not yield a satisfactory result.

 

18:30 (GMT) / 13:30 (CET):  We have identified two or three potential sources of the problem, and our teams are attempting to apply the appropriate kernel patches.  The problem is centered around disk-write operations.  The "bug" appears to be known by Sun, but so far, not the solution.

 

20h30 (GMT) / 15h30 (EST) : Still working on the issue.  Some disks now function, but not all of them.  Unfortunately we still do not yet have an ETA to communicate, but we know that it will take several more hours. :(

 

20:50 (GMT) : 15:50 (EST) : A new kernel is being compiled currently and we will reboot the filer after the new kernel is installed.  (watch this space...)

 

23:00 (GMT) : 18:00 (EST) : The new Kernel is compiled and currently tested on a stage filer. Once tested, we will apply it on the broken storage unit.

 

00:00 (GMT) : 19:00 (EST) : Victory ! Filer seems to be back and running properly. We will restart all servers and monitore them to see if everything is ok. A detailled report will be sent tomorrow to all clients involved. Thank you for your patience.

 

We apologise for the inconvenience.


The Gandi Mail service is currently under heavy load due to a multitude of botnets in Asia (principally India, Iran, and Vietnam) and Eastern Europe.  As a result the number of connections to the Gandi Mail service is multiplied ten-fold resulting in disruptions of service.  We currently do not have an efficient technical solution to deal with this kind of traffic anomaly.  We are investigating possible solutions and will be deploying them in the coming days.

 

We apologise for the inconvenience caused.

 

Update 3 October 2011, 16:30 CET:  Although the heavy load has subsided for the time being, we are leaving the service status indicator in orange for the time being while we monitor and attempt to implement a reliable solution over the coming days.


Due to an equipment failure some services are unavailable (blog admin, mail)

Our teams are working on it

We will give you more information as soon as possible.

EDIT  02:21 CEST:  situation is back to normal. We have had a loadbalancer failure and we have also encountered some difficulties switching to the backup loadbalancer.

Please accep our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.


From now until the end of July, the registry is allowing us to offer you .ME domain creations at 50% off the first year. Renewals and transfers are not included in this promo.

.ME creation prices at Gandi for the first year are therefore down to
$12 (£7 or €8) under A rates and €9 (£5.5 or €6) under E rates excl. VAT.


From October 1st to December 31st 2011, Eurid is offering a €2 discount on all .EU domain creations for 1 year. Renewals and transfers are not included in this promotion.

.EU domain prices at Gandi go from €12 to €10 excl. VAT under A rates, and from €6 to €4 excl. VAT under E rates. Customers paying in USD and GBP will see a $2 and £2 discount.


Due to the effects of a a number of large spam botnets, customers will have experienced delays in mail delivery.  The delays are due primarily to the farm of mail filter servers, which are in place to weed-out the spam, virii and malware attached to emails, becoming heavily loaded dealing with the mails received by these botnets.  Specifically these botnets appear (at first analysis) to be related to a large number of trojans infecting mobile devices around the world.

 

Our teams have been working to, initially, add additional mail filter servers and incoming spools to keep with the increased load caused by these botnets.  Over the coming hours and days we will be working to implement more robust solutions to combat this kind of anomalous traffic.

We apologise for the inconvenience that these delays may have caused.


30 to 40 minutes mail delivery delays are expected today.

 

We will receive tomorrow (Tuesday 27th) new machines which will serve to resolve the recurring mail delays we have been experiencing since the last few days.

 

Please accept our sincere apologies for those inconveniences.

 

The Gandi team



Page   1 2 347 48 4957 58 59
Change the news ticker size